MX-Tools – Newbie Awesomeness Without the Ubuntu Risk!

Today instead of using the Systemback or Timeshift apps that I was used to, I tried out an awesome new one (new to me anyway) from the wonderful tool set that comes with MX-17. It’s called MX Snapshot and it does what the others do – flawlessly and simply. I was able to completely “clone” my desktop system to a bootable iso, then burn it to a USB key using MX Live USB Maker.

Other than being very slow to boot up, it ran and installed effortlessly on my laptop computer with every bit of information and settings saved from the desktop computer. Best of all, once installed and booted up from the hard drive, I did not have to fiddle around with stupid Broadcom drivers or Ndiswrapper or any of that stuff to get the wifi to work! It simply recognized the new network device and in two clicks I was connected! Without needing that fail-safe driverless wifi dongle I always had to use on the laptop when it was running Linux Lite.

The installer for the iso created on MX Live USB Maker is identical to the official installer. Very graphical and beginner-friendly. I gave MX the entire drive, since backups are so easy and I still have that iso and can create a new one in mere minutes.

The tool set in MX-17 is pure awesomeness. Not only simple enough for a technophobic Ba’ku boy to understand, but it actually works like it says!

MX may not be as novice-friendly at first (that is, to install and configure), but for the longer term it’s better for new Linux users because it’s built on Debian Stable. Unlikely to be bricked by one of upstream Ubuntu’s infamous updates and all the attending regressions and breakage.

2 thoughts on “MX-Tools – Newbie Awesomeness Without the Ubuntu Risk!

  1. Hi Robin, whenever I “move” to a new computer I just install everything from a newly downloaded ISO. That makes sure my system is on the latest standard … and that without any geeky trickery. All my important personal files and my multimedia collection I keep on external drives anyway, so there’s no need to migrate all that shit too.

    BTW, if you find the time and are up for a new experience outside of the Debian/Ubuntu world, I’ve found my new favourite ArchLinux system in Namib GNU/Linux. It runs perfectly for me and I didn’t have any trouble since two months.

    https://orcaflotta.blog/2018/04/21/2-months-on-namib-gnu-linux/

    Like

  2. I have no experience with Arch, but I really like Slackware-based SalixOS, and I toyed around with PCLinuxOS, so it’s not ALL Debian/Ubuntu, it’s just what I’ve grown comfortable and familiar with. This is actually my FIRST time doing the “geeky trickery” thing with an iso other than an official one. I just wanted to see how it would work and it was awesome!

    Like

Leave a comment