Fixing Up Xubuntu 12.04 LTS

Well allrighty then!

Back on my wonderful favorite old default Linux, Xubuntu! And like the true wimpy scardycat I am, I’ll only use the LTS editions. I’ve found a way to make it a little bit leaner and meaner, and that effort continues. One way is to simply add an Ad-Blocker to Firefox. Another way is super easy: Simply remove some of the startup daemons and stuff that use resources but that I don’t need. Bluetooth, for example. This old relic doesn’t have Bluetooth, so why have a Bluetooth daemon running, right?

I unchecked the ones I don’t need, and the ones I don’t need running right at startup. Printing, for example. When I need it then I’ll run it. In the meantime I don’t need it gobbling up my meager little resources. Y’see the one I added? It’s a very resource-miserly little one called gdesklets that has a prettier clock and calendar than the ones offered in the Xfce panel. If there was a prettier weather desklet I’d use it too, but gdesklets doesn’t offer one. Waaaah.

Oh well, there’s always the weather applet in the panel, right? WRONG!!! The one that comes on the Xubu CD doesn’t work anymore. Oh, you can add the PPA and upgrade the whole desktop environment to Xfce 4.10, but that creates new problems on Xubu 12.04, like buttons that quit working.

So here is a way to get that wonderful Xfce weather applet working again without picking up new bugs that get dragged along with an upgrade of the whole Xfce desktop: First use Synaptic Package Manager to completely remove Xfce4-weather-plugin. Then open a terminal and type these four commands one at a time. Enter your root password when prompted:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:dtl131/mediahacks
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install xfce4-weather-plugin
sudo add-apt-repository –remove ppa:dtl131/mediahacks

Now your xfce4 weather panel plugin will work!

So have a look at my awesome Xubuntu 12.04 LTS desktop now! I’m using the High-contrast icon set, gdesklets, and the now-restored weather panel applet (not in the picture, lol):

If any readers have some other ideas on how to make my Xubu leaner and meaner yet, please pretty pretty pleeeeease offer them in the comments below. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Fixing Up Xubuntu 12.04 LTS

  1. UPDATE! The weather applet has been fixed in Xubu 12.04. Just keep it updated and all is well. The next LTS edition, 14.04 is out, but until it’s gotten at least a year old I’ll stick with 12.04 – maybe even until 12.04 reaches the end of it’s support life (April 2017!). No hurry to change a great thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

