Linux on Old Computers

One of the things I really take joy in doing is restoring old throw-away and hand-me-down computers and making them run better than new, using lightweight Linux operating systems and free software. I can then donate them to a local school, church, or other charity. Mostly desktops, because laptops are harder to do because of the wifi tweaking I have to do. I prefer the Xfce desktop because it’s so very intuitive, even people who never used a computer before can just point-and-click their way along with an easy learning curve.

By the way, I got in trouble at school for my silly answer to the professor’s question, “What was the first point-and-click interface?”
My answer: “Colt Firearms.”

Where was I? Oh yeah – old hardware. I may have to quit when 32-bit Linux systems become impossible to find. It may not be long, but while it lasts I’ll keep that ancient, one-step-up-from-an-abacus Windows98 machine running along for as long as I can.

Here’s one I won’t ever donate:

Xfce desktop with desktop icons for school stuff I’m working on

Sizzle, pop, clickety

The dial is a thermometer. The gauge doesn’t show degrees, but whatever. The speaker is covered by a collander-type slotted spoon.

Okay, okay, it’s not really an old computer. It’s Steampunk!

Antique-looking awesomeness.

3 thoughts on “Linux on Old Computers

  1. What kind of crappy Linux or laptop are you using that you have to tweak the wifi, Robin? We’re having two Acer lappies right now, but even on our older lappies we never had any problem with wifi right out of the box. Neither hubby on his Ubuntu 12.04 and nowadays Kubuntu installs, nor me on various Mint, LMDE and Arch installations.

    The shit just worx. As intended.

    Like

  2. Oh and btw I know what Robin means certain distros typically non Debian based you have to tweak the wifi. Puppy Linux is one that I could never get the wifi to work with my router. Would work if it was hardwired into the router.

    Like

Leave a Reply

