Another Unexpected Delight

I don’t know what came over me. I put Xubuntu back on this old ancient relic of a desktop. I was feeling nostalgic I guess, and I wanted a look at the new Xfce 4.12, too. And I’ve gotta say, it’s awesome! That desktop is top notch, simple, beautiful, extremely configurable, and out of the way. Exquisite! But it’s still to resource hungry for this poor aging desktop computer. Aaaaaaaand,

My printer started arguing with me. That’s never happened in any Ubuntu-based distro before. In Xubuntu 12.04 it was fine. The new-and-improved version doesn’t work with my HP printer at all. Sound was functional, but at half the volume I was used to, even with the Xfce Volume Control turned all the way up. Also, putting the 64-bit version on a used laptop (with 4 times the RAM of my desktop), the WiFi won’t work. I suppose I could have Googled and tinkered, but the last time I did that I got frustrated and ended up buying a WiFi dongle from ThinkPenguin.com that doesn’t use proprietary drivers. But heck, I shouldn’t have had to. And as it turns out, I didn’t. Because LXLE works flawlessly right out of the box. WiFi, printer, sound, everything. I could tinker, but hey, I’m a technophobe! I run applications, not the operating system. I just want it to work. Now. Check out this desktop screenshot:

This gorgeous desktop is LXLE with panels set to disappear when not in use, and Conky Manager’s apple-green widget installed, because I don’t care for the little mouse thingy up in one corner, cool as it is, by default in LXLE. Because both of my computers are pretty old and under-powered by today’s standards, this is the go-to distro for me, despite my fondness for the wonderful Xfce desktop. I could add it, but the last time I tried that it just confused this old machine, and again, remember I’m a technophobe! LXLE’s tinkerings with LXDE have made it just about as awesome as Xfce anyway. And I like the options the file manager offers, and the perfection of the Openbox window manager.

I expect this to last as long as my hardware does.

2 thoughts on “Another Unexpected Delight

  1. I also have been unable to get the WiFi to work on Dell D630s that I refurbish for a non-profit.
    It have been replacing the broadcom WiFi card with Intel cards

    Like

Leave a Reply

