My Salix Screenshots

Hi readers!

I had a little time today after a glorious Resurrection Day worship service and a casual supper with family, to throw on a few new desktop wallpapers and take a few screenshots to show off my new SalixOS operating system. Very basic and very simple, it’s surprising that a computer dunce like me can use – <gasp!> Slackware of all things! But SalixOS makes Slackware easy for (kinda sorta) inexperienced users taking their first steps out of the spoon-feeding, one-size-fits-all Linux distro I have used for the past two years. I never have toyed with Docky or Conky yet, but those are probably next on my list. Not that I’m unhappy with the good ol’ Xfce panel with the goodies I’ve always enjoyed. But screenshots of Docky and Conky look so geeky and cool that it might be fun, when time permits, to mess around with them. I’ve got a lot of reading to do first though! And it’s a good idea, when you’re experimenting, to keep a written record of everything you do and what happened when you did. I’ll add the new toys to my “Linux journal.”

So here’s the first shot – just the desktop with nothing open. This is what greets me about 20 seconds after power-up:

My old Xubu desktop actually used a different window manager called Compiz. It made open windows appear translucent when I was working in another. Okay, so it looked cool, but SalixOS has a sensible “one application per task” approach to their mixture. So since this is an Xfce desktop, it just uses the Xfce window manager (Xfcewm). I could enable some cool effects I suppose, but the whole reason I’ve switched from Xubuntu was to regain the speed and simplicity that was being lost with every new update. Until recently, Xubuntu was aimed at “older, modest hardware.” That doesn’t seem to be the case anymore. I think that, with the arrival of Unity and Canonical’s departure from the Gnome desktop, that Xubuntu serves more as an alternative to Unity rather than as a distro intended for modest machines with lesser resources. For that there’s Lubuntu now, and I’ve read that it fits the bill nicely. So here’s my desktop with a few apps open: The terminal, the pdf viewer, and Thunar, the default file manager which is kind of growing on me as I get used to it.

Oh, did you spot that Diaspora document in my Downloads folder? I was thinkin’ ’bout getting back on that social network again. It offers some cool new features like formatting posts and comments (try that in Facebook – maybe someday, if you pay extra for that) and using #hashtags instead of joining groups to read stuff that interests you. But that’s a whole ‘nother post for some other day. Today I’m showing off my sexy speedy SalixOS desktop! On the right, there, is the SalixOS Startup Guide opened up for me to learn about the terminal. It’s quite different in Slackware from the Debian/Ubuntu apt-get sudo and all that. Not any more complicated so far, just different. All I’ve really done so far in the terminal is look around a bit, and use it to gain root access to Thunar so I could move some files around “as root.” There’s much more there to explore, but not without my journal and a lot more reading first.

I am still absolutely delighted with SalixOS. Midori hasn’t crashed even once, despite having multiple windows open and video streaming. It’s much faster and more responsive than Xubuntu was, and no daily flood of major updates to scare the heck out of me. This old computer is nearly 10 years old, and with SalixOS on it, I think it could go another 10 years with none of the slowdowns and crashes and freezes and such that frustrated me my last several months as a Xubu user.

Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “My Salix Screenshots

      1. Still not completely happy with Salix I miss some applications that I found useful that aren’t available with the slack repositories. Going to still keep looking around and trying a few small footprint OS that are around.

        Like

    1. What applications, Pete? Did you look ’em up in Sourcery (the amazing compile-from-source app that’s about as simple as Synaptic Package Manager) or only in GSlapt? They add stuff all the time, and all one has to do is request it! Tell me what they are and I bet I can get ’em for you!

      Like

      1. Yep did look for them in both and I saw something similar but it wouldn’t install I kept getting error messages and then it said it was removing the files. Right now I’m trying out a hyper-cloud linux os called peppermint. Also Midori was giving me issues when I tried to log into Hotmail. I blame Microsoft of course not Midori but still want a different browser.

        Like

      2. Aha, Peppermint! I hope it doesn’t “inherit” a lot of bugs from it’s Ubuntu-based parent, Linux Mint. You might have a look at Bodhi Linux also, for a really ultralight cloud-based distro with the stunning E17 desktop!

        Like

  1. Okay, so now for some reason Midori slows, freezes, and crashes. Close and restart doesn’t help. Reboot doesn’t help. Emptying cache and history and whatever doesn’t help. Oh well, it was good a for a couple of weeks, but good-bye Midori, re-hi Firefox. Keeping my fingers crossed…

    Like

    1. For some reason Thunderbird and Firefox don’t “talk to each other.” Click on a link in Thunderbird and it just sits there instead of opening Firefox and going to the link. Nooooo. I have to right-click the link in T-Bird, select “Copy,” then open Firefox and select “Paste-and-go.” Rawr. I was tempted to “run home” to Seamonkey but I’m playing with Opera today and it’s faster and better integrated than my old favorite. I love the zoom bar! No more hunting for reading glasses to view e-mail messages and web pages. Since T-Bird refuses to let me choose a minimum font size, that little zoom feature is handy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

