Xubuntu 12.04

Okaaaaay! A mere simple sidekick who imagines he might be able to handle Beta-testing a Linux operating system is probably kidding himself, BUT:

Foolhardy though it may be, I’m doing it! Because I’m just impulsive that way, and my “inner geek” won’t wait. And besides, it’s Xubuntu, and a long-term-support (LTS) version, so it’s likely safe. And if not, re-installing is so simple even a mere sidekick can do it. 

So here’s my report on the good and the bad so far:

First: I downloaded my iso file from Softpedia instead of the daily build (it has all the updates and is much better, as you’ll discover as you read on) from the official download site. If you want to try it because maybe you’re as foolhardy and cocky as I am, use the official download iso file! My Softpedia copy balked at two attempts to load, and finally, slowly, loaded Xubu on the third attempt. I test-drove it on the LiveCD to satisfy myself that it would be compatible with my hardware. Check, all good. And I like the new Greybird theme! Verry cool:

So, I clicked on the “install” icon. First attempt was a no go. Second attempt proceeded and after selecting English, the installer advised me how much room Xubu would need on my hard drive, reminded me to make sure I was connected to the internet, then offered me a choice between installing Xubu 12.04 alongside my existing Xubu 10.04, or “upgrading” 10.04 to 12.04 (preserving settings, pictures, music, bookmarks, e-mail settings, etc), or wiping the entire drive and installing Xubu 12.04 to take the whole hard drive. This is where the trouble all started! I think I’m a smart boy, and I had separate partitions to keep my data from being wiped (backup anyway!), so I chose “upgrade.”

Instead of replacing my old Xubu with the new one, the installer created a whole ‘nother partition table that looked like my old one on GParted (1 gb for Linux-swap, 20gb for / and the remainder of the drive for /home), but it didn’t fully overwrite the old installation. The first result of that was that Xubu couldn’t install updates because “that partition is full.” What!?! 10 gigabytes!?! No waaaaaay. Desperate to make room, I removed a bunch of unused applications and ran the “clean this mess up” command:

sudo apt-get clean

Yay! Gained about 20 mgs of disk space. Oh, wait… 20 MEGS? Crud. I thought, “The next update will fill that up and I’ll be back at Square One.” Rawr.

Sure enough, it did. Determined to make sure Xubu had all the room it would need, I doubled the size of my / partition using GParted from the LiveCD. Ha! Fill that up, you stupid update!

It didn’t, yay. But Xubu became reeeeeally slow after that. The longer the uptime, the slower Xubu got. Off to Ubuntu Forums for help (that’s always where Google sends you anyway). The wonderful folks there tell me I must have multiple installations or something, even though GParted tells me it’s okay. Maybe resizing them just complicated matters even further. Okay, now I’m getting mad.
 

“Fine! Take the whole stupid hard drive then! Stupid Xubu “upgrade.”

So, off to the Official, Real McCoy, Authentic, Authorized download page for a good copy of the iso. This time I just let Xubu have the entire drive (seriously, who doesn’t do backups anyway?). Oh.My.Gosh. Xubu rocks again! Even Firefox (version 11!) flies faster than before. Xubuntu 12.04 is the best Xubu yet, and it runs as quickly on this old Dell as WindowsXP did when it was brand spankin’ new! Best Xubu ever.

Lessons learned:

1. – A separate /home and/or /data partition is a good idea, but not always. It may tempt some people to neglect backing up files, and it just might mess up a new installation if there is a big gap between what you’re upgrading from and what you’re upgrading to.

2. – Use the official iso from the official download site or torrent. Accept no substitutes.

3. – Know where to go for help when things get too complicated. This is Xubu, for goodnessakes! It’s not supposed to be complicated!

4. – Xubu is still the best Linux distro in the history of ever!

4 thoughts on “Xubuntu 12.04

  1. Wellllll, it’s a beta after all. Updates always scare me. In just the two weeks since I started testing Xubu 12.04, there have been THREE kernel updates! Scary. The last one has slowed Xubu down a bit, and I find a lot of Gnome stuff on my Xubuntu. It begs the question,

    Why is there so much Gnomie stuff in my Xubuntu? Does Xubu really need all that Gnome stuff? gnome-support for Firefox and Thunderbird, then gnome-support for Seamonkey (faster than Firefox and Thunderbird), gnome icon theme, gnome this and gnome that. If Xfce is supposed to be faster and lighter than Gnome, why is all that Gnome stuff in there? Is it slowing Xubu down?

    Like

    1. yeah all those softwares which u have mentioned requires gnome library files. As a base desktop, xubuntu proves to be light but when u want to use softwares developed for gnome in xfce, it defeats the purpose.if u want perfect distro without gnome file here n there, go for Lubuntu, it ll be blazing faster than the xubuntu without all junk of gnome files. but if you start installing softwares that require gnome files, you again might get all those junk gnome files.

      Like

      1. Actually even on this old run-down tired 8-year-old computer, I find no discernible difference between Lubuntu and Xubuntu! It’s surprising. Much of the “Gnome” stuff is really GTK stuff that both Xfce and Gnome depend on.

        Like

Leave a Reply

